Criminal offenses that are committed in Virginia can fall into two broad categories, and these are misdemeanors and felonies. As a general rule, misdemeanors are considered less serious and often come with the consequences of a year or less in jail. Misdemeanor penalties are assigned based on the class of misdemeanor. More serious misdemeanors carry more sever penalties. This page will discuss what types of violations are considered misdemeanors in Virginia.
Class 1 Misdemeanors
In the state of Virginia, the term “Class 1” is used to describe the most severe misdemeanors. These offenses can lead to up to a year in a local prison, as well as additional fines in the amount of up to $2,500. Class 1 misdemeanors include any broken law that is not associated with a specific punishment or specifically classified.
Class 2 Misdemeanors
Class 2 misdemeanors are not considered to be as severe as Class 1 misdemeanors, but they still come with the consequence of six months in a local prison, as well as fines that total up to $1,000. Possession of drug paraphernalia, such as an instrument that is used to smoke cannabis, is one example of a crime that would be categorized as a Class 2 misdemeanor.
Class 3 and Class 4 Misdemeanors
Class 3 and Class 4 misdemeanors are the least serious among misdemeanors. They do not come with jail time, but people who are charged with these misdemeanors may have to pay fines. With a Class 3 misdemeanor, an individual would pay a $500 fine, and with a Class 4 misdemeanor, the fine would be $250. The intoxication laws in Virginia would fall into this set of categories.
Statute of Limitations for Misdemeanors
For every crime that is committed, there is a length of time given to the state to press charges against the individual; this is referred to as the statute of limitations. Misdemeanors in the state of Virginia come with a statute of limitations of exactly one year, though this varies from state to state.
We Are Ready To Represent You!
Even though punishments for misdemeanors are less severe than felony penalties, they can still be serious and/or expensive. During court proceedings, it is essential that you have qualified legal representation to ensure that your rights are protected and that your side of the story is heard. If you have received a charge for a misdemeanor in Virginia – contact The Brown Firm PLLC Immediately. We offer free initial consultations by phone or at our office. Don’t risk having your rights violated and receiving a more severe penalty. Call our firm or, send us a description of your case online today.