After being convicted of Driving Under the Influence (DUI) in Virginia, a driver’s insurance obligations will change and become more stringent. The court will require a convicted driver to acquire a Financial Responsibility Certificate (FR-44) from their automobile insurance provider. The adjudicated driver must hold this certificate for a term of three years from the end of their license revocation. If the driver receives a restricted license, they must hold the FR-44 for four years.
Which Convictions Require an FR-44?
Since January 1, 2008, a directive from the DMV states the following convictions in Virginia courts carry a requirement to get an FR-44. These include violating the following laws in any local, state or federal jurisdiction within the state.
- An adult driver continues to drive after forfeiting their license upon a conviction.
- A juvenile driver continues to drive after forfeiting their license after being adjudged not innocent.
- Driving while being intoxicated with alcohol or other drugs (DUI/DWI).
- Injuring a person by driving while intoxicated.
Higher Required Limits for Liability Insurance
Being convicted of driving while intoxicated will change liability limits and therefore insurance rates. The courts will require that the convicted driver will then need to carry a higher liability limit. Insurance companies will use this new limit in determining your insurance rate.
The FR-44 Versus the SR-22
The SR-22 with which many people are familiar is required after conviction of lesser offenses. The FR-44 is for more serious offenses and carries higher burdens. Virginia requires the SR-22 after conviction of the following offenses:
- Outstanding unsatisfied judgments against the driver.
- Driving an uninsured vehicle while the driver’s license is under suspension.
- Failing to show proof of current automobile insurance.
- Falsifying vehicle insurance documents.
- Suspension of driving privileges after being convicted of offenses lesser than DUI/DWI.
The required liability insurance coverage for the FR-44 is double the requirement for SR-22 at a rate of 50/40/100. The driver must carry $50,000 for bodily injury, a per accident limit of $100,000 for bodily injury and $40,000 coverage for property damage.
Proving Automobile Insurance Coverage
Your automobile insurance carrier will give you an official Proof of Insurance card to the insured driver. This card must always be kept in the automobile and be given to any law enforcement officer if requested.
Work With a Legal Professional
Only convictions for DUI in Virginia require the FR-44. Because of the high penalties and added insurance costs, a strong DUI/DWI defense within the law is important. Learn more about potential legal defense strategies by visiting,
If you are charged with DUI or DWI in Virginia, contact our firm immediately by phone or email to begin work on your defense. By educating yourself about Virginia’s laws and hiring experienced legal help, you can put yourself in the best legal position.
Legal Consultations Are Available!
If you are facing a situation involving a DUI/DWI in Virginia, call The Brown Firm PLLC or send us a message online. Our experienced DUI defense attorneys will be able to help you understand your charges and how you can manage them. Call to set up a legal consultation or, send us a description of your case online.