As a worker who lives in Virginia, you benefit from the protection of both state and federal laws when it comes to your wages and employment. If you work in Alexandria, Arlington, Fairfax, Reston, or Herndon and you have concerns about unpaid work, unpaid overtime, or any other irregularity with your pay, then get in touch with our firm right away. We will explain your rights as a worker, and help you to understand Virginia payment and collection laws.
The minimum wage in Virginia is set at the same level as the federal minimum, which is $7.25 per hour. It is important to note that not all workers are covered by the minimum wage. This is a list of some examples, although it does not include all of the exempt professions:
- Domestic home workers
- Farm workers
- Salesmen who earn a commission on their sales
- Taxi drivers
- Miscellaneous other jobs
Workers who are under 16 or who are 18 and work for their parents or legal guardian, or people in an internship or similar educational or training program, are also exempt, as are small businesses with four or fewer workers. All other workers are entitled to the full minimum wage. Under Virginia’s Minimum Wage Act, workers who win a case can receive not only the full back pay that their employers owe them but also eight percent annual interest. The worker can also win legal fees to cover the cost of the case.
Understanding Living Wage Laws
The city of Alexandria is one example of a local government with wage laws that override state or federal law. The Living Wage Ordinance requires that anyone who works for a contractor in the city of Alexandria must earn at least $13.13 per hour. The exemption is contracts that are worth over $50,000 and involve a formal bidding and solicitation process. Any contractor who is subject to the law must make reports to the city every quarter and every year to prove that they are compliant with the law. A living wage is not the same thing as a minimum wage, because it automatically changes based on the local economy. So you need to keep checking the formula to see the current value of the living wage in Alexandria.
Virginia Laws Governing Wage Payment and Collection
Virginia law regulates how an employer can pay their workers. It is important for you to be able to count on a steady and consistent paycheck, and the law supports your right to be paid regularly. According to state law, hourly workers must be paid at least every two weeks, or twice a month. Salary workers are entitled to be paid a minimum of once a month.
That isn’t all. Any worker who leaves the job or is terminated must be paid for all work they did up to and including their last day. That money must be paid no later than the next time they were scheduled to be paid according to their normal procedure.
The state law also specifies how the money can be distributed. The employer has to issue wages in the form of cash, a check, a prepaid debit card, or direct deposit into an account that the worker specifies.
We Are Ready To Fight For You
If you or anyone you know has had problems with getting paid on time, not being paid for overtime, or after announcing that you were leaving the job, or being underpaid compared to the local law determining the minimum wage, get in touch with our law firm as soon as possible. If your case is successful, you will obtain the back pay that your employer owes you, plus interest. You might also be entitled to legal fees. Contact The Brown Firm PLLC for a legal consultation to discuss your case and your options. You can reach us by phone at 703.828.0900 or send us a contact inquiry online.