Every year in Virginia, there is a high number of unwanted car accidents that are associated with associated with driving under the influence. Due to the high number of fatal and non-fatal automobile accidents, Virginia state laws enforce strict laws designed to discourage driving under the influence and to penalize individuals who are charged with a DUI or DWI.
Virginia DUI and DWI Laws
Driving while intoxicated can put you at risk of being arrested for a DUI. Those who are under 21 may be arrested if their Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) is higher than 0.02 percent. Those who are older than 21 may be arrested if their BAC is higher than 0.08 percent. Driver’s with a BAC over .15 face significantly more severe penalties. If a driver is transporting children while driving under the influence, he or she will be facing up to $1,000 in additional fines and five more days in jail. Commercial drivers may be arrested if their BAC is greater than 0.04 percent. For full information on Virginia’s DUI and DWI laws, visit:
DUI Penalties in Virginia
If you are pulled over and are found to have a BAC at or above the legal limits, you may be arrested for DUI/DWI. Those who are convicted for DUI/DWI will face stiff penalties including a criminal charge on their record. More serious violations are given more severe penalties. Penalties can include, court-ordered restitution, expensive fines, ignition interlock devices, license suspension, participation in the Alcohol Safety Action Program and even jail time. For full information on Virginia DUI/DWI penalties including license suspension, visit:
Repeat DUI Convictions
Drivers who are convicted of more than one DUI charge within a certain period of time will receive more serious penalties. For example, an individual who has been convicted of three DUI’s will receive more serious penalties than an individual who has been convicted of two DUis. A third DUI conviction or conviction for a very serious violation can result in felony DUI charges. These felony charges will appear on a driver’s criminal record, but they can also result in the person’s car being forfeited and seized. To read more about the penalties for repeat DUI/DWI offenses, review:
Penalties for Manslaughter Charges
When someone is killed as a result of a DUI, the intoxicated driver may be charged with involuntary manslaughter or aggravated involuntary manslaughter. This is a felony charge that can result in the loss of a license for an indefinite period, seizure and forfeiture of the vehicle and up to 20 years in prison.
DUI and DWI Defense Strategies in Virginia
If you have been charged with a first time or subsequent DUI in Virginia, it is in your best interest to work with a DUI defense lawyer. A qualified attorney may be able to have the charge lowered so that you receive a less serious penalty and in some cases, a charge for DUI or DWI may be dropped entirely. Defending against a DUI/DWI charge in Virginia requires a legal defense strategy. The Brown Firm PLLC DUI defense lawyers have extensive experience defending against DUI?DWI charges in court. To read more about potential defenses to a DUI/DWI charge, read our informational page:
Contact Our Firm for a Free Consultation
If you are facing a first time or subsequent DUI/DWI charge in Virginia, call The Brown Law Firm PLLC or contact us online to set up a free initial consultation. Our firm has the experience and knowledge you can rely on during this difficult time. We can provide you with the advice and representation you need to ensure that your rights are protected throughout each stage of the process.