In Virginia, a reckless driving charge is very serious. Drivers can be charged with a misdemeanor or a felony and consequences range from mild to very severe. A reckless driving ticket can create significant issues for Virginian drivers. In the Commonwealth of Virginia, reckless driving is considered to be a criminal offense, not just a driving ticket. The penalties for those individuals who are convicted of reckless driving can vary.
In most cases, reckless driving is treated as a Class 1 misdemeanor. This means that the penalties are similar to those experienced by drivers who have a DUI. Depending upon the circumstances, drivers could be charged with a Class 6 felony. If this is the case, the penalties range from several years in jail to several thousand dollars in fines. Reckless drivers can also loose their driving license or even their vehicle. However, the allegations of reckless driving are often based on minimal evidence. This means that drivers facing such allegations may be able to get the charges reduced or dismissed by hiring a lawyer experienced in traffic defense.
Misdemeanor Penalties for Reckless Driving in Virginia
Reckless driving is often considered to be a Class 1 misdemeanor. The penalties for a Class 1 misdemeanor include serving up to a year in jail or a fine of $2,500. In some cases, a prison sentence and a fine may be given. A Class 1 misdemeanor is the most serious type of misdemeanor.
Felony Penalties for Reckless Driving in Virginia
Drivers who are convicted of reckless driving charges may face serious consequences if those charges happened while the driver had a suspended or revoked license. In addition, if the reckless driving resulted in the death of an individual, a driver may be charged with a Class 6 felony. A Class 6 felony is the least serious type of felony and punishments vary from one to five years in prison. A judge or a jury may sentence a driver to less than a year in certain cases however. Individuals may also be fined up to $2500. The fines may be in addition to or in place of a prison sentence.
Drivers who are suspected of racing or who kill or seriously injure others while racing will be charged with a felony. In cases such as these, drivers can be sentenced up to 20 years in prison if the racing contributed to the death of another driver. In such cases, individuals will have their licenses suspended from a one to three year period.
How Reckless Driving Affects Your Future Driving Privileges
Drivers convicted of reckless driving will have six demerits applied to their license. According to Virginia law, any adult who has 12 or more demerit points in a year will need to complete a driver’s education course. Drivers who do not complete the driver’s education course within a certain amount of time will have their license suspended. In some cases, an experienced attorney can get your reckless driving charges reduced to a charge of improper driving. The penalties for drivers convicted of improper driving are much less severe than those penalties assessed for drivers convicted of reckless driving.
Contact Us To Learn More
If you are facing a charge for reckless driving in Virginia – contact The Brown Firm PLLC today. Having experienced legal representation by your side could mean the difference between expensive fines and jail time or, a lesser penalty. We offer free initial in-person or phone consultations so that you can understand your options before making a decision. Don’t risk receiving a more sever penalty, entrust your case to our firm and let us fight on your behalf.